Tony and Suzanne Marriott's Phoenix Arizona Real Estate Blog

head_left_image

The Critical Importance Of A Second Opinion!

When things appear to be serious, a qualified second opinion is critically important.

 

One item on my "medical monitoring list" is an annual eye exam.

 

This year, due to Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona withdrawing from the ACA plans in Maricopa County, I had to select a different Health Insurance company - Ambetter from HealthNet - and it turned out that my Opthamologist was not "In Network" - so - time for a new opthamologist.

 

I did my due diligence, independently identified an "In Network" provider, and found that they were also a provider that my previous provider referred patients to.  

 

I hadn't noticed any change in my vision - still 20/30 or thereabouts in each eye.

 

So - all was good - or was it??!!

 

I attended my annual eye exam on May 11th, 2017.

 

The intake process was "perfunctory", and that's being generous.

 

Optical Coherence Tomography scans of both eyes were taken.

 

After a couple of minutes with the "Doctor" he announced that he saw something there in the right eye, and I needed a Fluorescein Angiography OCT.  

 

I went back over to imaging to complete that - then returned to the "chair".

 

"OK - you have Wet Age Related Macular Degeneration and I will be giving you an injection directly into your eye today, then once a month thereafter."

 

Seriously??

 

"I'll pass on that for today - I need to consult with my quarterback (Primary Care Physician) who has helped me successfully navigate the sea of medical decisions these past three years".

 

"Don't wait too long - if you're not back here within a week for an injection you will GO BLIND!"

 

I did consult with my PCP, and another provider, and both advised to seek an in depth consult with the "Eye Doctor" - or identify a new candidate.

 

The response from the "Eye Doctor", through his office staff:

 

"Sorry - I only do 15 minute appointments and that includes an injection.  Fax me your questions and I'll reply within 1 business day."

 

Needless to say - I sent the fax - and never heard another thing from him or his office.

 

After exhaustive due diligence I identified a "Top Doc", Dr. Alan Gordon, who leads the team at Associated Retina Consultants.

 

I attended an appointment with him some 4 weeks after the appointment with the "other Eye Doctor".

 

I brought image files from the "other Eye Doctor" (obtaining those was like pulling teeth - but I prevailed).

 

The diagnosis?

 

Definitely NOT Wet AMD!

 

Try Central Serous Retinopathy.

 

The reason I hadn't noticed anything?  It was so far away from the area that could affect "central vision" that it was no no impact on that area.

 

Something that often resolves on it's own without aggressive treatment (that has a significant chance of resulting in infection of the eye).

 

The images looked like it had improved between the two appointments!

 

"Let's monitor it closely and take it from there".

 

At my followup appointment last Friday, Dr. Gordon entered the room with a smile on his face, and said:

 

"I'm very pleased to advise you that the issue has resolved itself - no fluid anymore.  See me in early November for another followup".

 

If you visit their home page - the very first thing you see is:

 

"Our focus is always on the person. Our team is never in a hurry to rush you through appointments or pressure you to make a treatment decision for which you aren’t ready. We want to make sure you fully understand your vision challenges and your options for treatment."

 

I'll say.

 

The difference between the two practices is like night and day.

 

No wonder that Associated Retina Consultants is entrusted with hundreds of clinical trials.

 

So - the moral of this story is - a second opinion is critically important when faced with startling and unexpected news - due your due diligence before embarking on risky and aggressive treatment - particularly if it's uncalled for due to a mis-diagnosis!

 

 

About the Authors - Updated 2018

If you are considering a Traditional or Short Sale of your home in Phoenix, Scottsdale or any location in Maricopa County Arizona, you owe it to yourself to talk with the BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty to determine whether Tony and Suzanne Marriott are the best real estate Brokers in the Phoenix and Scottsdale metropolitan area to help you with the Successful Sale of your home.

Tony and Suzanne have personally Listed, Sold and Closed more than a hundred Short Sales with the highest list to close rate in the Phoenix Metro Area!

Tony Marriott - Chief Operating Officer - BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Suzanne Marriott - Chief Learning Officer - BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Associate Brokers, REALTORS
BVO Luxury Group
Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Comments

I worry about the doctors that want to inject or prescribe something right away, I am glad that you got a second opinion!

Posted by Brian England, MBA, GRI, REALTOR® Real Estate in East Valley AZ (Arizona Focus Realty) almost 2 years ago

Tony and Suzanne- first of all, glad that you don't have to have injections and that what you have has taken care of itself. You are so right...get a second or third opinion if you must!  And if the physician doesn't like that you are doing that...tough! It's your health.

Posted by Kathy Streib, Home Stager - Palm Beach County,FL -561-914-6224 (Room Service Home Staging) almost 2 years ago

Me too Brian England and - thanks for stopping by with a comment!

 

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

Agreed Kathy Streib - always good to hear from you and - thanks for stopping by with a comment!

 

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

                         Thank you Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers 

Posted by Kathy Streib, Home Stager - Palm Beach County,FL -561-914-6224 (Room Service Home Staging) almost 2 years ago

Good morning, Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers you're much too young for wet macular degeneration....my mother had dry macular degen. and did get shots...she said it didn't hurt one bit....but it arrested it's progress...she's 95 and has good vision....  glad you got that second opinion...

Posted by Barbara Todaro, Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team (RE/MAX Executive Realty ) almost 2 years ago

Good morning Tony and Suzanne. This is absolutely terrifying. I am with you...if it sounds outrageous, next.........

Posted by Sheila Anderson, The Real Estate Whisperer Who Listens 732-715-1133 (Referral Group Incorporated) almost 2 years ago

Good morning Tony and Suzanne. Yep, sometimes trust your gut and get that second opinion! Especially on medical issues! Enjoy your day!

Posted by Wayne Martin, Real Estate Broker - Retired (Wayne M Martin) almost 2 years ago

Hi Tony -- I'm glad  to see(truly no pun) Kathy Streib highlight your post as part of her weekly "ah ha" moments.  Second opinions like second chances can provide peace of mind along with many other benefits.  Be well.  Take care.   

Posted by Michael Jacobs, Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393 almost 2 years ago

Thanks for the feature Kathy Streib - very much appreciated!

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

I can "see" that now Barbara Todaro  - thanks for stopping by with a comment!

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

Agreed Sheila Anderson - unfortunately - it can work both ways if a medical provider fails to diagnose a problem when one exists...

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

Absolutely agree Wayne Martin and - thanks for stopping by with a comment!

 

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

Thanks Michael Jacobs - always good to hear from you and - thanks for stopping by with a comment!

 

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

Hi Tony

Wow, that is quite a story. I would have been out that door from that first doc promptly, too! Glad to hear the second experience was more positive AND that the eye issue was far less serious. My uncle lost his vision to MD and 2 of my cousins and my Mom are being treated!

I think in more cases than not a scond opinion makes sense.

Jeff

Posted by Jeff Dowler, CRS, The Southern California Relocation Dude (Solutions Real Estate ) almost 2 years ago

I can see why Kathy chose to  highlight you post today....great stuff!

Posted by Kristin Johnston - REALTOR®, Giving Back With Each Home Sold! (RE/MAX Realty Center ) almost 2 years ago

It was a mind numbing experience Jeff Dowler - was very grateful for the correct diagnosis and that the issue resolved itself!

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

Thanks Kristin Johnston - REALTOR® and - thanks for stopping by with a comment!

 

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

Whoa!  So glad you didn't stick with that first doc and follow his directive;  what a colossal misdiagnosis on his part. 

Posted by Susan Haughton, Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results. (Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545) almost 2 years ago

OMG this is infuriating....the state of healthcare is a crime and needs serious improvement! That doctor so quick to stick that needle in your eye should lose their license!

Posted by Sharon Tara, New Hampshire Home Stager (Sharon Tara Transformations) almost 2 years ago

I've had my trials and tribulations with the medical profession over the last few years - very difficult to find solid and reliable medical providers who put their patients, not their pockets, first Susan Haughton - thanks for stopping by with a comment!

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

I'll say Sharon Tara - it did not have me in a great frame of mind for a few weeks - but all OK now.  Am contemplating next steps regarding Eye Doctor Number 1...

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

Glad I stopped by from Kathy Streib 's sunday picks.  Age related macular degeneration is a terrible condition, my dad has it and it can lead to blindness.  Second opinions are critical as there are so many doctors who mis-diagnose.

Posted by Joanna Cohlan, Designing, Decorating & Staging Westchester Homes (Fresh Eyes For Your Home) almost 2 years ago

Far too many Joanna Cohlan and - thanks for stopping by with a comment!

 

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) almost 2 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments